2010 Philippine Non-Working Holidays


Planning your 2010 vacay a year ahead? This might be helpful, so start making your calendars on the long weekends so that you can start booking flights… and filing for vacation leave!

Recently released by President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo Proclamation 1841 declaring list of 10 regular holidays, four special non-working holidays and a special holiday for 2010..

List of Regular Holidays holidays in 2010:

New Year’s Day (January 1, Friday)
Maundy Thursday (April 1)
Good Friday (April 2)
Araw ng Kagitingan (April 9, Friday)
Labor Day (May 1, Saturday)
Independence Day (June 14, Monday nearest June 12)
National Heroes Day (August 30, last Monday of August),
Bonifacio Day (November 29, Monday nearest November 30),
Christmas Day (December 25, Saturday), and
Rizal Day (December 27, Monday nearest December 30).

Under Republic Act 9492, holidays, except those that are religious in nature, are moved to the nearest Monday unless otherwise modified by law, order or proclamation.

Special non-working days:

Ninoy Aquino Day (August 23, Monday nearest Aug August 23),
All Saints Day (Nov. 1, Monday), as well as
Christmas Eve (December 24, Friday) and
New year’s Eve (December 31, Friday) the last day of the year.

The 1986 People Power Revolution anniversary (February 22, Monday nearest February 25) is a special holiday for schools

Eid’l Fitr (End of Ramadan) and Eid’l Adha, to be announced later, dates reckoned from the lunar calendar.

PGMA also signed Republic Act 9645 declaring July 27 (Tuesday) of every year as special national “working holiday” in recognition of the founding anniversary of Iglesia ni Cristo (INC).

And who knows, they also might put a Cory Aquino Day in next year’s calendar. We’ll keep you posted!



Related Posts with Thumbnails
  • dacs

    September 2, 2009 at 10:51 pm

    flipheyns!!!!! hahahahahahahahahaha

  • flipntravels

    September 2, 2009 at 10:57 pm

    haha! too bad we didn’t win… tsk!

Post a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.